RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Compositing
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Compositing Collage, montage, masking, selections, combining, etc.

Removing a color for printing to a tinted medium.

Old 01-04-2009, 10:18 PM

Removing a color for printing to a tinted medium.

I have a strange experiment I'm having some difficulty wrapping my head around. I'm a pro at Photoshop, but this goes outside of anything it was designed to do.

The issue is I have an image I want to output onto an VERY LIGHT orange (pastel peach, almost) paper for reproduction. I don't want to print the orange on a white paper and the paper has a unique texture. Just... go with me here.

I know that ink out on my IRIS will mix with the underlying paper tint. If I know the color value or Pantone of the paper color, is there a way to process an image so that I "remove that orange" from the colors in my image so that once printed, the mix of the colors is in most places near the original image?

I know that anything of a lighter tone will not show up (since white is expected to be transparent or no ink) and that things lacking a component of the color of the medium will be off.

Does this make sense? I've tried playing with a fill layer in Photoshop, and setting it to Difference and inverting the product, but it's still not right.

Please help if you can.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-05-2009, 02:35 PM

Re: Removing a color for printing to a tinted medi

yes, i've done this before but in my case it was grey aluminum..if you know the values of your paper you can make a curves adjustment layer and "subtract" those values from your image...
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-05-2009, 03:18 PM

Can you please explain a little more? I think I understand where you are going, and that would work with a neutral grey, but will that work with a color/tint, and how?
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-05-2009, 03:55 PM