RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Soft Focus - Portraits

Old 03-10-2005, 04:33 PM

Soft Focus - Portraits

Hi Everyone!

My first post. I am new to photography and Photoshop. I have learnt a tad bit along the way and thought I would share this with you......

I learnt this process from a website by a person called Kevin Ames. All credit please goes to him. It creates the same effect as the Ziess Soft R2 filter - which you cannot use when you go digital...or at least that is what you thought till now. [n.b. if this is on someone else's post previously I apologise].

Attached is an action to achieve the soft focus. Where it stops however is after creating the soft effect with a layer mask. What you have to do afterwards is simply bring back into focus key features of the face such as the eyes....nose....eyebrows...and defining lines. It works wonders and I hope you all like it. Attached also are three photos...before...without masking and finally the finished product.

Before you run this action....please do all your colour correction and level/curve correction. Then click on new layer. Hold down your option/cmd key and click on the layer option pallet and hit merge visible. What this does is create a new layer effectively flattening all your previous layers while keeping them intact.

Then run the action and finally click on your background colour (black) and using a paint brush with an opacity of say 25% start colouring in the mask to bring the photo back into focus.

Hope you have fun. If you need a tutorial on this...would be happy to help - once I figure out how to publish a tutorial.

Take care and and a big thank you to the site organisers and contributors for making the entire experience of photography and Photoshop so enjoyable.

Sansuci