RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Picture of grandfather--Help!

Old 04-09-2005, 12:14 PM

Picture of grandfather--Help!

Hi,
I'm new to RTP--been lurking for about 3 weeks. I have PSE3, as you can probably tell by my screenname My father was diagnosed with Alzheimers about 3 months ago, and my brothers and I are making a slideshow for him and my mom for their 43rd anniv. next month. I have this picture of my gf--whom I never met--from about the 1920s I'd say. I've done some level adjustment on it, even split the photo into layers and ran level adjustments on him and the background separately. Just not getting what I want. I know much of the photo is way over exposed--to the point of being blown. Just wanted to see if anyone had any further ideas of what I could do to improve the photo. Remember, I'm in PSE3--I have Richard's book/cd/tools, but haven't yet used them as I am still trying to master the basics of the program. Thanks! Oh yeah, the second thumbnail is what I got after working on the layers separately. I ran the image through neatimage (thanks for that wonderful link to the program Flora!) but for this image I was not happy with the results--I lost too much detail in his face. But the background is soooooooo noisy.

Jen
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1900-1950- (13) post.jpg (94.0 KB, 140 views)
File Type: jpg 1900-1950- (13) copy post.jpg (98.8 KB, 121 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-09-2005, 03:01 PM

I'm using PSE2 and I had a try at your picture. Here's what I did - I'm lazy

Image > Adjustments > Equialize (that made it look awful, but wait...)