RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Meet Spigot the dog

Old 05-13-2005, 03:58 AM

Meet Spigot the dog

Meet Spigot the dog. My 3rd retouch
Im no expert at retouching. Glad I found this site tonight. I've attached a work in progress of a friends photo. I may start completely over. This photo, taken back in the seventies was developed with a very dark result. The middle image is just using autolevels. The image on the right is the current result after heavy, heavy, heavy, retouching. I'm thinking its partially the autolevels fault that caused some colors to be clipped.Definately the whites are blown out. If you look at the wood panel wall there are clipped green areas. I still havent gotten to removeing most of the dust and scratches on this intermediate version. I may go back and rescan on my new scanner(as its a better one than my friends) and save a far larger tga or tif. The original is only 50 meg. Basically, you all know how camera flashes cause that sort of round spot. All is lighted well except the corners. You can see that plainly in the center image. So I used two copies of the original photo layers. One using a circular layermask. To knockout the blue cast I used the curves editor several times over. I was always thinking that it would be nice if there was a plugin that could map those light density halos and turn it into a mask. After doing all this I did learn of a great set of retouch plugins called PowerRetouche
Just curious of your thoughts on this newb's attempt. First thought is that I should probably learn to stay away from autolevels.
Pete
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Spigotexample.jpg (98.3 KB, 150 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-13-2005, 09:31 PM