RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Tintype (?) Scanned Image

Old 06-11-2005, 09:19 AM

Tintype (?) Scanned Image

A friend ask me to recover this picture. I scanned it in at 600 dpi. I'm new at this and only have PSCS2. I've tried some things and get some sort of image out but with no sucess. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Restore-copy.jpg (75.3 KB, 104 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-11-2005, 09:46 AM

can you give us a better scan ?

you mentioned 600ppi .. this is 72ppi ... did you scan this for us at 72?
If so I'd suggest opening the raw 600ppi scan and reducing that to 72ppi then try posting it... Better yet perhaps just post a smaller section of the 600ppi as it was scanned.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-11-2005, 02:45 PM

It appears to be a tintype, (that is: a photograph made on a sheet of iron and coated with dark enamel). Anyway, you need to lighten the image. You can do this by adding curves or level adjusting and changing the blending mode to screen (if necessary you can duplicate this adjustment layer and adjust the opacity). This will reveal the true condition of the photo.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-11-2005, 05:01 PM

Exclamation

It must be scan it again...
[Even without the frame]
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 08:44 AM

It is possible to bring out the image, but as the others said, it must be rescanned. What is that strange pattern across the image (yet not the frame)?
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 09:04 AM

Used AstraImage to edit the FFT. Masked off the vertical lines. Applied DDP to enhance the tone and blurred a little. I would rather leave it at this stage as I won't be able to retouch the photo back to its original look and feel.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg can-this-be-002-s.jpg (6.7 KB, 61 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-12-2005, 10:16 AM