RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Repair Sticky tape damage

Old 07-05-2005, 10:04 AM

Question Repair Sticky tape damage

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum and am looking for some help. Here is a snipit of a photo I am trying to restore. The lady's arm and the baby's arm were badly damaged by sticky tape. Any iedas on how best to re-construct.... or is this an impossible task.

Teresa
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lady.jpg (95.6 KB, 101 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-05-2005, 02:04 PM

hi teresa,

and welcome to the forums

this looks like a job for clone and heal. what program are you going to be working with?

for a simple clone job, i'd start on the woman's arm and work downwards, replacing the damaged area with the good parts above. this allows you to keep the patterns and textures of the dress that are intact and 'clone' them into the damaged area. when you hit the elbow and have to start going horizontally, simply find another area of the picture that is undamaged and looks in your estimation like it could fill in and replace the damaged area and continue on with your cloning.

when you hit her hand, there is enough evidence to tell the general outline, but not a lot to clone from. you can either try to rebuild this with simple paint brushes or maybe clone from her facial skin to reconstruct the hand.

and this same procedure pretty much works on the baby's arms and hands, but a bit more difficult because of the extent the damage goes to and the size you're working with, but the technique would mostly be the same. but that's only for the baby's left arm.

her right arm is a bit difficult to tell. it appears, without downloading this to my drive, that it may be going out towards the mother's hand. if that's the case, then i'm going to guess that you might want to do a bit more hand work here with a simple brush.