RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Faded Photo restoration HELP!

Old 07-06-2005, 03:01 PM

Faded Photo restoration HELP!

I was given this photo to see if I can resotore it back to it's original colored self and I am new at photo restoration. I was browsing through the forums and am really amazed at some of the work that is done here. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction as to where to start on this photo. I have tried making a selection of the area and using levels and curves but it doesn't seem to be working too great. Is there anything else I can try or should I just work harder at the levels and curves?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fadedbaby.jpg (96.6 KB, 137 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-06-2005, 04:29 PM

samwise,

welcome to RP!

now, i'm not that good with restoring facial skin tones. flora is much better at this than i and maybe she'll take a shot at this. but, i did make an attempt.

i did start with a curves adjustment layer. you've got a lot of washed out areas on the baby's face. so, first we reduce that a bit.

i then make a duplicate layer of the base layer and ran a fast fix filter plugin on it to get some better saturation and contrasts here and there. just a general fix.

next, i made a selection of the baby's face and went with hue/saturation/lightness to try to add back some reds and yellows to the baby's face. we want to get some color back there.

however, not all of the color returns, so i did a little bit of cloning on the baby's face to fill the remaining white wash outs. not much, just enough to get some skin tone and texture back.

there was still some texture missing across the whole face so i added a very small amount of noise and then a softened to blur it a bit.