RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Where do I start?

Old 07-21-2005, 03:55 PM

Where do I start?

Hi,

I would like to restore my parents' wedding photo for their anniversary, but I don't know where to start the restoration process. Please advise.

-- Photo is from 1967 and is severley faded after 38 years.
-- Almost all color is gone except for the edges that were under the frame.
-- Photo is 8x10, and I scanned it in at 600 dpi in a TIFF format = 86 MB file
-- I have Photoshop Elements 3.0, but could use a friend's PS 7.0.

I am a newbie here, and am not familiar with restoration of old photos. I am familiar with digital photography and have manipulated some of my own shots, but this appears to be a huge undertaking, and any help is greatly appreciated. I see some amazing work done here, and would like to do the same myself.

Thanks in advance,
-- Todd
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wedding_2_small.jpg (77.4 KB, 103 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-21-2005, 04:25 PM

Hey Todd

I'm new here too and I'm kind of guesing that the image you posted is just a touch too small for any serious work (but I'm sure someone will put me right). I'm also kind of thinking that the colour is so far gone that the only option is to hand colour it - once gain I'm expecting to be put right on that one.

Anyway, this is about as quick as it gets, all of 15 seconds.

Duplicate layer - blend mode = multiply (Cropped out border to save having to work on it - sorry, I'm lazy :-)). I'm sure there's far more work that can be done on a bigger image and that someone else will come along and offer far more advice than I can.

Cheers

Roy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wedding_2_smallR.jpg (97.7 KB, 81 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-21-2005, 06:44 PM

Hi Todd,