RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Basic Actions question

Old 08-06-2005, 02:45 PM

Basic Actions question

I saw lots of threads for types of actions, but not the basic info I'm looking for. I've never used actions before...

If I want to load a pre-made action, it's just as simple as clicking on load action in the actions pop out menu, then I select the action from wherever it's stored on my computer? Do I have to turn OFF Button Mode to do this or is that just when you're making an action? Anything else??

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-06-2005, 04:52 PM

Smile

Hi Inskip !

I am rather new at using this resource too, but one thing you should do is dwload the action or the zip to:.... Archivos de programa\Adobe\Photoshop CS\Presets\Photoshop Actions folder.
Then open Photoshop and in the "Actions" tab click the little arrow/triangle on top of that tab; in the pop up menu select "load actions" you will have a dialog box to chose the path where the new action is installed.

Once that is done you go back to the image where you want to apply the action --I think you need to select it. Then go to the actions tab again and roll down till you find the newly added action, select it and then use the play button at the bottom of the tab. And voilá your action is applied.

As everything it takes some practicing first, and obviously, work on a copy of your file in case everything goes wrong or the action is no good for what you want

Hope it helps ?

Good luck !! - Martha
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-06-2005, 06:26 PM

THANK YOU! That's what I was wondering about.

To add to this info, I believe, and maybe someone else can clarify, that I read if you put the Actions in the folder you should have them in a backup location because they will be overwritten with the default Photoshop actions when it is reloaded.