RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Restoring old photo 1930

Old 09-05-2005, 11:56 AM

Restoring old photo 1930

I had a photo scan email to me from a relation who lives overseas. I have been asked can I touch it up and make it look nice.
I use PS 7 and PS CS , I am self taught from what I have read in tutorials so Doing the basics is Fine

But I am hoping that some of you more experienced users of PS maybe able to Assist me with some tips or examples to Progress Further.
Any help is sincerely appreciated
kindest Regards Graham.

This first image is the original.
The second photo is as far as i have been able to progress to
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mum_and_pops_wedding_photo.jpg (81.7 KB, 96 views)
File Type: jpg step3HB.jpg (86.1 KB, 93 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-05-2005, 03:36 PM

The first thing I'd do is...

Purchase a copy of Grain Surgery. That will smooth out the graininess considerably. After that is completed, I'd desaturate, fix the scratches and tears with the clone/healing tools, then colorize. One very superb site for tutorials you might want to check is goodtutorials.com. Very diverse on PS capabilities. Any of Katrin Eismann's books will be tremendously helpful. www.digitalretouch.org. Also, look at this: http://www.kirupa.com/motiongraphics/colorization.htm

good luck

PJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-05-2005, 03:51 PM

Thanks for the advice and the links PJ, I will chase up a copy of Grain Surgery,
Basically what you have suggested using clone and healing brush I have done to a degree. But what I did next was used Auto color level which removed the tint then used history brush to paste the tint back in to color the dress and top and hat.
I suspect the original Photo was BW then bleached to remove the silver for longevity Tinted and hand painted to give some color to the image.