RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

My first photo

Old 10-02-2005, 04:13 PM

My first photo

I'm taking the plunge. Just going to put myself out there. What did Eleanor Roosevelt say? Something about facing your fear? Well, here goes. It's my first attempt after watching the VTC.com Photoshop Restoration tutorial. I only used the healing and patch tools really. I think there was some adjusting with curves, but I don't really understand that yet. As you can see, it's really damaged. Most of my family photos are in this condition or worse. One thing I did notice is that when I printed a test page on plain old paper it got considerably brighter than the original. I'd like to keep the "oldness" to the picture. BTW, my father (passed away when I was six) ran a little photography shop in Georgia and took this pic. There are several really good ones that he took, but are now in desparate need of restoration. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Also, I'm not sure if the "v" on the wall in the middle of the picture is part of the wallpaper pattern or if it was damage to the wall. Mom and Dad didn't have much money back then. I guess if it was part of the wall I'd like to keep it that way.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CribBefore.jpg (74.7 KB, 78 views)
File Type: jpg CribAfter.jpg (74.9 KB, 80 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-02-2005, 04:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamonaMarie