RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbie here, Needing a bit of advise

Old 12-27-2005, 10:35 PM

Newbie here, Needing a bit of advise

Im now trying my hand at restoring old photos and just need a few suggestions on how I can maximize a photo that Im working on. Getting rid of dust and spots is no prob for me. The first thing I adjusted is the tonal quality. The problem I ran into was the more adjustments I made, The more grainy the image became. Is it just that the original is where the problem is, Or am I adding too much adjustments? How can I smooth out the image and get a cleaner looking pic? Ill add the original & an image of where I currently am in the process. Thanx to all for any suggestions.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg adjalt.jpg (71.1 KB, 62 views)
File Type: jpg orig.jpg (49.8 KB, 56 views)

Last edited by Braddock; 12-27-2005 at 10:55 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-28-2005, 08:50 AM

braddock,

welcome to RP.

yup, going grainy is easy to do on these. when that happens, the thing to do is back up and find out what happened and correct for it. now, i dont know when you converted to grayscale, but i'd recommend NOT doing that till the very last step. the reason for this is that you lose access to tools in various paint programs. so, my first step was the Fast Fix plugin. i used that to desaturate rather than go completely gray. i also used it to adjust contrast and lightness a bit. this gives me an image that has lost most of that dull yellowish tint.

from there i'll just list things i did:

digital camera noise removal
polaroid dust and scratch remover plugin on the black setting with the face and other whites selected out so as not to affect them
clone/smudge on the background
contrast/brightness adjustment layer
curves adjustment layer