RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Miami vs Mars: Orange removal

Old 01-05-2006, 11:11 AM

Miami vs Mars: Orange removal

Newbie here. I have looked around and have not found a sufficient way to make the beaches of Miami not look like the beaches of Mars. The building is probably art deco-ish flamingo pink. The sky and water...well...blue. Our grandparents and we were also not jaundiced. Eek. Can anyone help?

I have several more like it so I need assistance. BTW I use PSP9 for the most part but just received PSE3 with my new wacom for christmas.

Thanks in advance,
Kelly
Attached Images
File Type: jpg g_and_in_miami.jpg (95.4 KB, 123 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-05-2006, 11:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadevries
...have not found a sufficient way to make the beaches of Miami not look like the beaches of Mars. The building is probably art deco-ish flamingo pink. The sky and water...well...blue. Our grandparents and we were also not jaundiced. Eek. Can anyone help?...Kelly
Kelly, Welcome to RetouchPRO!
Now, for the 'bad' news -- Kelly, your photo(s) have a "bad blue channel". No, they're worse than bad, they're BAD! Don't worry if you're not sure what that is, you can learn about channels here. I don't want to rush you too fast, and I'm not a PSP user (I use Photoshop 7.0). Without exchanging your blue channel with another channel, it would be hard to get a decent image from this photo, but by exchanging the blue channel (with a copy of the green channel or a copy of the Lightness channel from LAB), you are then able to use Levels (or Curves) to correct the color. After the color is fixed, there is some more work to do, but a run through a noise reducing filter (Neat Image, Noise Ninja, Noiseware, etc.) helped a lot.

Here's a link to a RetouchPRO tutorial on "Replacing a Color Channel"