RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Flash Shadow Removal

Old 02-03-2006, 05:42 PM

Flash Shadow Removal

I have searched other threads and see various suggestions on shadow removal. None that I looked at had these characteristics. Flash shadow puts a dark shadow area around the subjects head (as shown in the attachment) while at the same time overexposing the facial features.

In this case, I actually selected the shadow (freehand) and cloned the background wall into the shadow area. This eliminated the shadow but I feel there is a more elegant approach. Plus, I have some like this where the background is not a nice smooth wall and which can not be cloned easily or at all.

Can I ask for a summary of how I might approach this type of retouch problem?

Sorry for the blur but this makes my grandson's mom happy.

Thanks,

Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2595_Test.jpg (61.2 KB, 92 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-03-2006, 06:12 PM

Trying to overcome the ravages of on-camera flash through retouching is a losing proposition, in my view. The best policy is to avoid its use at all costs.

But when presented with a fait accompli I guess you gotta do what you gotta do. In this particular case, if it were me, I'd extract the lad from the cluttery background and replace it with something else.

If there's a foolproof quickie method for getting rid of the shadow, I've never run across it. I think in this instance your approach was probably about right but others here who know a whole lot more than I do might have other ideas.

dc
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-03-2006, 07:16 PM
Patron