RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbie with Q's

Old 02-03-2006, 10:43 PM

Newbie with Q's

Hi all,

I am a newbie interested in re-touching Glamour Pics and Portraits.

Hope you good folk could answer a couple of Questions for me please.

1. Is there a trick or easy way to get nice soft and 'pinky' flesh tones using Adobe Photoshop 7 or Photoshop CS? (I have both versions).

2. Is it best to fix up pimples, blemishes, wrinkles etc first then deal with brightness, colour, contrast last?

3.what is the best tool/method for removing unwanted blush, shadows etc from faces, necks arms?

4. When I save my picture after re-touching (jpeg) does it still retain all the image file size, parameters etc?

5. How, what do I need to calibrate my monitor to the monitor that the images were originally from?

any tips greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Minskie
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-03-2006, 11:31 PM

Im sure you'll have question and others will add much more but here is a quick run through your questions

1. Is there a trick or easy way to get nice soft and 'pinky' flesh tones using Adobe Photoshop 7 or Photoshop CS? (I have both versions).

Soft skin there are many ways and debates over how much texture to retain. The most generic way in PS7 is to use the median filter or gaussian blur and then adjustment opacity of the layer. In CS2 there is surface blur. Proffessionals from what i understand use dodging/burning and healing (darkening/lightening) to smooth the skin pixel by pixel. You can also look into denoise software to soften skin such as neatimage or noiseninja..

"Pinky" I am not sure what you mean. You can use color balance adj layer to adj the colors. A more advanced way to adjust color is using the curves adj layer.

2. Is it best to fix up pimples, blemishes, wrinkles etc first then deal with brightness, colour, contrast last?