Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbie needs critque

Old 03-02-2006, 02:22 PM
Newbie needs critque

Hi my name is Sheri and I am a newbie. I hope I uploaded the right size file correctly. This is an old photo of my mom when she was a secretary. Yes it is a Beehive hair style and it was very RED. This is my first retouch, or is it a restoration, I did in my Photoshop workshop. I was hoping for some help with techniques that would have made it better.
The left eye is bad (I used a dodge and burn tool, and it is too harsh) also the hair line is too obvious. I did an adjustment layer for hue and saturation. I feathered it.Was this the correct thing to do? She still has some brownish stuff on her face, I am not sure if it was there or I caused it, but how to get rid of it is the question. Other than that I started with levels and unsharpen mask and the healing & clone tool. Any suggestions to make it better. It is okay if I have to start all over again. It was a beginning class so I was just guessing a lot.

I love this site and plan to be very active. My goal is to be an accomplished retoucher and restoration artist. There seems to be sooo much to learn, most of what you talk about like the high pass filter etc is beyond me, even after reading the tutorials. I will have to do it step by step to see if I can figure out what happens. I am working on one of the challenges now and will enter it even if it is bad so I can get feedback on how much I am going to struggle. Any help is appreciated.

I have some great photos that would be fun challenges or archive for practice, somewhere I read that I should email thumbnails to Doug. Is that correct?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg MOM-at-WORK-(before-&-after.jpg (98.6 KB, 150 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-02-2006, 06:25 PM
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL