RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Restoring old Family Photo

Old 03-28-2006, 11:33 AM

Restoring old Family Photo

Hello, I'm very new to Photoshop and I've been trying to restore this photograph for my father of his Father and his grandfather. Orinally (Scan1.JPG) it had tons of yellow stains and scratches, I think I've gotten rid of most of those by:

Image-> Apply Image -> then ligthen with Red & Green and it seemed to take away all of the yellow marks that I believe were originally on the blue channel.

Anway, I'm hoping there are some other things I can to sharpen the image and maybe even some of the details in their faces, but I'm not very hopeful? Can someone just let me know if there is anything else that can be done. I'm really trying to learn, so any information would be greatly appreciated.

thank you in advance,

kyle
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Scan1.JPG (87.3 KB, 152 views)
File Type: jpg Scan1_mod copy.jpg (90.3 KB, 140 views)

Last edited by keroger2k; 03-28-2006 at 11:49 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2006, 02:13 PM

welcome to RP, kyle.

you did a nice job on straightening and removing the yellow bits. it also looked like you did a bit of cloning to the roof. but in doing so, it got smudged quite a bit and lost a lot of the texture. the image is also in dire need of noise removal. and it needs to be lightened up a bit. those last two are the biggest needs, lightening and noise removal.

i played around with this a bit. i went back to your original image and selected the roof and copy/pasted it back over the duplicate (after rotating the original image 1 degree to the right). i pasted the roof on a blank layer and set it on blend mode of 'luminance'. there was more texture and definition in the original.

i added a brightness/contrast adjustment layer to lighten and add a bit of contrast.