Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Friend's wedding picture

Old 04-06-2006, 03:27 PM
Friend's wedding picture

I've been staring at this picture in my friend's house for the last few years and decided to try my hand at improving it. It's harder than I thoughtl. I'm a pro photographer so I could easily tell you how to retake the shot and make it look perfect. After the fact is another thing altogether. I didn't take this shot and would really like to hand over something much better than this. I'm so-so at PS ( I have PS 7) and would like the step by step to anyone who tries their hand at it. Thank you so much.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg docu0351.jpg (85.9 KB, 128 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-06-2006, 08:12 PM
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Hi AmyR,

Welcome to RP. Since you're a pro photographer, you know there is a copyright on the photo, and you need a release from the holder of the copyright to do anything with it.

Having said that, it looks like the biggest part of the cake, and the items on the table have no detail to save (although I didn't download the image to check that out). To get detail in the cake, you'll probably need to replace the cake with another one that has detail. If it's completely void of detail, there's no getting it back. The image could probably also use a contrast adjustment with a curves adjustment layer. Maybe use a gradient on a layer mask to even out the exposure on the left side of the pic.

Reply With Quote top
Old 04-06-2006, 08:45 PM
Amy, welcome to RP!!