Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Restoring Old Photo

Old 04-15-2006, 06:06 PM
Restoring Old Photo

I am new to Retouch PRO (first post) and to Photoshop and I have been working on restoring an old family photo from about 1920-1921. I have used the Healing Brush Tool for most work so far and the healing brush has enabled me to successfully remove most of the scratches, tears, folds, etc. in the original scan. However, I am now wanting to remove the graininess, soften the facial features, and possibly add color. In addition, someone along the years has colored in the eyes and has even drawn on eyebrows on the girl. I would like to blend all of these "additions" to the picture so they do not look so fake however the blending I have done so far seems to make it worse rather than better. I am wondering if I need to remove all of the drawing on the face and add in eyebrows myself using Photoshop.

I have been reading many of the excellent tutorials on Retouch PRO and have looked at some of the recent posts (ex. keroger2k, as well as others) on photo restoration but can't seem to right methods to provide the results I am looking for.

Does anyone have any techniques that they feel will provide good results on the attached JPG's?

Thanks for your help
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Before.jpg (83.5 KB, 105 views)
File Type: jpg After.jpg (98.3 KB, 105 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-15-2006, 07:54 PM
Welcome to retouchpro. For removing grain, your best bet will be to get a noise reduction tool--Neat IMage, Noise Ninja, and Noiseware are three I see mentioned a lot. Neat Image has a free version that is very nearly fully functional, so you can download that and try it out.

For the eyes, you could try to find a photo that has a good-looking eye in it and then use that in the other photos.