RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Background too dark..Suggestions Please

Old 05-02-2006, 11:37 AM

Background too dark..Suggestions Please

Hello All:
Although I have been coming to the site for awhile now, I am still very new to working with Photoshop and restoring pictures.

I have a photo I am working on for my friends neighbor who will be attending his 70th class runion..can you imagine??

This is a baby picture of his son and I am working on it to be placed in a powerpoint presentation for that event. I do not like the background I cloned behind his head on both sides. I think it looks like a tornado is about to hit..LOL Can someone please help with suggestions on how to improve it please.

I plan to try and use Vikki's tutorial on Masks for the face, but I find it sometimes does not look clear after I do this. What might I be doing wrong there? Thanks for the help. I am working on it as I post. Neb

Posting the original and my try.you will see the difference I am sure.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bbcroporig.jpg (17.5 KB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg bbcrop2.jpg (10.2 KB, 69 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-02-2006, 01:06 PM

hehe, neb... it DOES look like a tornado

there are several ways you can handle this. one would be with a lighten/darken brush. just go over the area with the lighten part.

another would be to mask out the face and use a brightness/contrast adjustment layer.

and yet another would be to clone from the lighter part of the background into the darker.

and that's just three ways to do it. mask and curves would work. mask and levels. mask and 32 band gray plugin would work. you could even use one of those filters like Cybia's Alphaworks and completely remove the dark area and replace it with something else.

so, lots to choose from here. my preference would probably be the simple clone one.

craig