RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Dont know were to start?

Old 07-25-2006, 05:06 PM

Dont know were to start?

Hi all,
well I was given this photo to work on, but I really dont know were to start ,I cant figure out how to post it in the challanges section,so if someone could point me in the right direction?
I think you have to upload them to Doug?
Where do I do that?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg damaged photo.jpg (91.4 KB, 139 views)

Last edited by David M; 07-25-2006 at 06:25 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2006, 06:35 PM

what a nice picture , the only trouble i see with it is the instermatic , that took it , its a easy clean up but when you get to the enlargerment side you might hit a rock or a hard place , myself (self taught ) would crop the white border first , then work my way in from the border ,
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2006, 07:04 PM

I know my way around the levels ajustment.
Healing,clonning etc...
But how do I replace missing parts of the image like the little girls leg?
I took a photo of my own girls leg and copied it into the photo,,but I just coudnt get it to look right,can any one talk me through it?
Also I still dont know how to post new challanges.
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-25-2006, 07:08 PM
Patron

Damaged Photo

Hi David,
I would begin with the a crop and straighten. Next duplicate the layer and change its blend mode to multiply and back down the opacity. This will rebuild some of the density. Then a simple increase in the level of the green channel will balance the excess Red and Blue. Or a Hue Sat adjustment or a number of other methods to balance the color will work. Fix or replace the sky. From there the clone stamp and patch tools can go to work on the restoration.