RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

faking "before" pics

Old 09-19-2006, 09:45 PM

faking "before" pics

hi, i'm not a new member, but this is my first time posting.
i do retouching, and restoration and webdesign, part time but my day job (well... actually night job) is as an editorial photo editor. Part of my job is to make sure there is absolutely no manipulation to any of the images that come in, so when i stumbled across a freelance photog's website i was absolutely horrified to find that he had totally faked his "before" restoration pic. He put a fake rip on it and actually scrawled the word "DOG" using a blurred brush tool at like full opacity and then had the nerve to write in the caption that "this is a photo that was torn and defaced that i totally restored" then he showed the after photo (which was really the before photo, before he "digitally defaced" it).

anyway, i wrote him an email telling him how dishonorable and dishonest it was to fake your "before" pic but he didn't respond. My question to the group is... How common is it for people to fake their "before" pics? This is not the first "before/after" i've seen where i've wondered to myself "did they just desaturate a color image and then use the original as the colorized after?" or "did they add a ton of noise, saturation levels, and brightness/contrast to create the before? and then use the original as the after?" i've seen it done on foreign restoration sites a LOT, but this is the most BLATANT misrepresentation i've EVER seen and it was out of Florida, not some some third world country known for internet scams.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-20-2006, 05:14 AM

Well I'd think a lack of true skill and misrepresentation is going to be found out sooner rather than later.......

......And bad news travels much faster than good news!
Reply With Quote top