RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

PSP/ Photoshop Monitor

Old 01-20-2002, 02:53 PM

PSP/ Photoshop Monitor

Greetings,

This is my very first time posting. I'm very new to this and have a question. I use both PSP 7 and Photoshop 6. My question is: I have been scanning some very old photographs 50-60 years old. I've noticed that when I open the photo in PSP the image is even more faded then the original. I have calibrated my monitor through PSP 7. The very same image looks brighter/ almost too bright in contrast in Photoshop. Any suggestions?

Also, does anyone have experience with scanning matted photos? I find the raised areas have a blue fleck tint after being scanned. Of course I can convert to grayscale, but I prefer scanning in 16 million colors to begin with.

Lisa
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-20-2002, 05:41 PM

Welcome to Retouch Pro Lisa. I don't know that much about PSP 7 but I had the same problem with my old scanner image program. Images looked almost ghostly to what they appeared on Photoshop. I believe you may have the programs set to different gammas or when you set your monitor to PSP 7 it was a different monitor gamma setting than Photoshop has. Others may know more about this subject than I do.

As for matted photos seems to be a trouble spot for most members here and they have talked about it on other threads. Although I'm not so sure a straight forward answer ever came about except maybe taking a picture of it with a digital camera instead of scanning it. That's usually not an option for most people. There are some software on the market that helps take out patterns such as that. You might look through the fourm and see what you can find. If I can find them I will post a link here for you.
DJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-20-2002, 05:53 PM

Lisa