RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Bad Patina on old photos

Old 10-10-2006, 04:07 PM

Smile Bad Patina on old photos

Attached are two examples of old photos I want to restore. I am new at this and use PSE 4. What proceedure should I use to get rid of the Hazy patina covering these scanned photos? Thanks for any advice.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Dad-&-Bros-ORIG-4x6.jpg (99.4 KB, 174 views)
File Type: jpg Grandpas-Fmly-ORIG-4x6.jpg (99.9 KB, 142 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-10-2006, 07:58 PM
Patron

Re: Bad Patina on old photos

Pallidin, welcome to Retouch Pro. A noise filter plugin such as Noiseware or Neat Image, or Noise Ninja will remove most of the haze. I used Noiseware and Photoshop CS2, however, I believe that these plugins will also function with PS Elements. After that I did a levels adjustment to teak the contrast (1st Attachment) and then converted the image to grayscale (2nd attachment).
Regards, Murray
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Pallidin Dad-&-Bros-ORIG-Rev MM.jpg (88.8 KB, 79 views)
File Type: jpg Pallidin Dad-&-Bros-ORIG-Rev MM Gray.jpg (84.4 KB, 103 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-10-2006, 08:44 PM

The best thing you can do is to have the originals copied by someone with polarized lights and lens.Does not matter if it is digital or film but the copy will be so good you will see detail you did not know was there.Then you can restore them and have a much easier time with far better results.
What you are seeing is oxidation or silvering and scanners cannot deal with it.If these are your photos you could try a couple of things that sometimes
works in a limited way. You could use a kneeded erasier it is sort of a soft art
erasier, with it you could rub it on the oxidized areas so it dulls the reflective