RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Suggestions Please

Old 01-14-2007, 11:05 PM

Suggestions Please

I am a total novice and am in awe of some of the work that I've seen in these forums -- I use PSE 3 on a PC and am trying to learn to restore. Would some of you please give me ideas on what to do with this photo -- I have exhausted my knowledge at this point. Thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 002_2.JPG (85.4 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg 002_2 copy55jan07_filtfinal.JPG (83.6 KB, 68 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-14-2007, 11:37 PM

Re: Suggestions Please

http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/members/flora.html

The first thing to do would be to read on "how to post". Your picture is small and it makes it hard to see the details. 100K is allowed. That is a starting place.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-15-2007, 02:05 PM

hi momatx, and welcome to RP.

well, as a novice, i think you've done quite well. you brought out the image more and cleaned up a lot of the damage.

on the downside, i think you've over-contrasted a bit here. the whites are a bit too white, at least in the dress. and your cloning/smudging is a bit off here and there in the background.

i had a try with this image too, and i found that the lighting presented some problems i wasnt expecting. i ended up using brightness/contrast, curves, levels, histogram adjustment and clarify and some more than once. and i also used a hue/sat layer to desaturate and adjust lighting a bit. i kept a bit of the sepia rather than go completely black and white. this tends to preserve the 'old' look a bit.

and that was the first part of what i did. that was all to get the lighting more in line and to bring out some more detail.