RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Where do I start?

Old 01-21-2007, 07:55 PM

Where do I start?

These are my thoughts but I'm just learning and would like to hear from some people that really know what they're doing.

1. Crop the edges.
2. Fix the background. The background has some serious problems. There's some sort of yellow that is smeared around the edges of the image. I've thought about maybe putting the image on another layer and then fixing the background that way. However, I'm not certain how to put the image on it's own layer.
3. From there, move to the face. The face has serious problems. For some reason it's 2 different colors so I'm not sure how to make this skin correction and maintain a natural looking skin tone.
4. The hair!!! It has some serious problems. It appears it has some unnatural reds and oranges that were added to the picture and in some places, it has this yellowish mess that's on the background.
5. Finish off with Neat Image to smooth out the noise of the paper.

Thank you,
Sylvia
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bust-of-Aunt-Jo.jpg (84.5 KB, 176 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-21-2007, 09:21 PM

Re: Where do I start?

Hi Sylvia

I used a hue/saturation adjustment layer to remove the yellow caste.

Then I used blank layers and the clone healing brush tools. In the option menu check "Sample All Layers"

I added some color back in the hair...eyes and skin using layers set to color or soft light mode.

Then I used a noise filter and then sharpened.

Butch
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1LTMtpMeaPumXqPcWEsJ0hFQNm8YF.jpg (95.8 KB, 115 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-21-2007, 09:28 PM