RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Torn Corner restoration

Old 02-21-2007, 03:57 AM

Torn Corner restoration

I'm trying to restore a photo for a friend. I'm very new to this....sooo I wanted to know what the best way to go about:
1. removing the dust and specks from scanning the photo
2. repairing the torn corner
3. removing the cracks
4. bring the picture back to life again?

I know I have to do lots of cloning. Any advice?

Here's the photo..
http://ss1.pickle.com/media/femmgran...85_big.jpg?374
Attached Images
File Type: png torn copy.png (99.1 KB, 79 views)

Last edited by femmgrangwav; 02-21-2007 at 04:17 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-21-2007, 05:34 AM

Re: Torn Corner restoration

Okay, this isn't the easiest picture to start out with but it is fixable (hopefully you're patient).

The first thing you need to do if you are able is to scan the picture at 300 dpi so that you have something bigger to work with. This will also result in a better print when you get it printed.

After that you can start fixing the picture. Here are the steps I would follow...

1. Straighten the image and cut of the excess edging (you can always add this back later.

2. Run a levels adjustment layer to brighten the image and get rid of the slight color cast.

3. Copy parts of the image that are intact on their own layer and then transform them to fit the missing sections (ie. use the wall on the right to fix the missing wall on the left). One you have them in place you can add a layer mask to the pieces and make them blend better.

4. Lots of cloning and healing to fix the scratches, tape spot, dust, etc. Some of the scratches you may be able to heal with Photoshop's built in Filter > Dust and Scratches (use a layer mask to only reveal the healed areas once you run this filter). Also use this layer to better blend your copied sections.