RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Ink Stain Removal

Old 03-27-2007, 04:56 PM

Ink Stain Removal

This photo taken in 1941 of my mother and my grandmother.
It has a few ink stains on it and what appears to be a tape mark across the centre.
I'm new to restoration and would appreciate any help thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 0001.jpg (97.4 KB, 135 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-27-2007, 05:17 PM

Re: Ink Stain Removal

Steve...

I managed to remove the stains with the Hue Saturation adjustment layer. I popped up the "Edit" menu and first selected Reds and with the eyedropper (your curser turns to an eyedropper when you move it out on the photo) to pick the darkest red, rusty color in the tape. Desaturated, lightened. Popped up and picked Blue, same procedure also for Magenta and Cyan.

The rest is up to you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stain-removal-0001.jpg (43.7 KB, 77 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-27-2007, 05:46 PM

Thank You Swampy
I've enjoyed looking at your website
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-27-2007, 06:53 PM

hi swampy,
now don't laugh to hard on my question, it probably too simple.... smiling..

why wouldn't you first either convert to greyscale or just desaturate or use the "fade desaturate"? if one has a choice what would be the advantage or disadvantage of one meathod over another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampy
Steve...

I managed to remove the stains with the Hue Saturation adjustment layer. I popped up the "Edit" menu and first selected Reds and with the eyedropper (your curser turns to an eyedropper when you move it out on the photo) to pick the darkest red, rusty color in the tape. Desaturated, lightened. Popped up and picked Blue, same procedure also for Magenta and Cyan.

The rest is up to you.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-27-2007, 09:14 PM

Jerry,