RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Many Stains, Much Damage . . . Guide Me Great Ones!

Old 04-30-2007, 02:34 PM

Many Stains, Much Damage . . . Guide Me Great Ones!

Hi all

I am new to photo restoration and have already gotten SOOO much from your combined expertise. That being said, I've reached an impasse. This is a family photo that is dear to an elderly aunt. Her son gave it to me in hopes that I could fix it. GRR. I am attaching a low res original (no correction at all), and looking for some advice. Thanks in advance!

Kinda hard to see the damage at 100k. Here's the 1Mb file posted . . .

http://frazier10.4shared.com/
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Family1988.jpg (94.9 KB, 147 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2007, 07:36 PM

Re: Many Stains, Much Damage . . . Guide Me Great Ones!

Hi Insouciance.

Welcome to Retouch Pro.

This photo appears to be taken by a Professional Photographer.
You could go back to the photographer and order a new copy?

Ken.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-30-2007, 08:06 PM

As mentioned by Ken, if this is a professional photo you might be able to go back to the photographer and get a new copy made.

The first place to start a restoration is with the scanning process. How much damage a scanner could remove I can't say as I do not do enough of that type of work. I don't know if it would be worth your time and or money to check out what a professional scan might produce if what you posted is not a professional scan.

I gave it a try and found that using the clone tool at various opacities, the healing brush, the Patch tool--this worked great on the striped shirts and plaid dresses--seemed to work very well. The history brush in connection with the dust/scratches filter then set to lighten/darken took out a lot of the small stuff. In the lower right corner I used a plugin to fill that area