RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

House Restoration

Old 05-23-2007, 06:45 AM

House Restoration

I'm attaching an image that is important for my local historical society, which is restoring an 1867 house. The goal for restoring this photo is to be able to see at least some of the details of the wallpaper in this room. Getting this to the point of a perfectly restored photograph would be nice, but the information in the photo is more important at the moment. (In other words, even if the photo looks terrible, if we can see what the wallpaper looks like, we will be very, very happy.)
I've gotten it to the point where I can pick up a faint pattern of the paper on the slanting ceiling, but can't get the pattern on the wall. I'm a beginner at photo restoration so I'm hoping someone with more experience will have better results.
A scan of the original photo is attached.
Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3.04 600 VS Front Hall.jpg (72.1 KB, 135 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-23-2007, 07:39 AM

Re: House Restoration

I can find no pattern but maybe you need to post a much higher resolution of an area of the wall as opposed to the actual picture, as all I get when I zoom in on the wall is pixelation. Otherwise, maybe you could post the picture on a site and post a link to it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3[1].04%20600%20VS%20Front%20Hall copy.jpg (91.5 KB, 96 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-23-2007, 12:48 PM

I took the picture into a blow-up program and did get some type of pattern on the wall. Whether this pattern is wallpaper or an artifact produced as a result of the process, I don't know. If it is a wallpaper pattern it looks like a tone on tone pattern.

dc