Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

damaged image file "invalid header"

Old 07-03-2007, 01:56 PM

Post damaged image file "invalid header"

i have been given a picture to repair that i can not seem to get to open
no thumbnail
does not work in PS, Corel, MGI, IE, nothing...

what happend was this picture was hidden for security reasons
i was told that in order to ensure it was not opened by anyone other than them, it was opened in notepad, a space was entered as the very first character, now that it is needed as evidence, even with the space removed, it will not open in any program i have tried... i am far from an expert with this, but i have tried numerous things with no luck... any and all help would be appreciated...

and i am not allowed to upload this file, sorry...
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-03-2007, 02:26 PM

Re: damaged image file "invalid header"

imagenewb, welcome to RP.

offhand, my first inclination would be to check the file extension and to make sure that it is not .txt or .doc and to verify somehow that it's been changed back to the original extension, whatever that was.

but, it may be more serious than that. notepad basically saves in a text format, not binary. pictures are binary. they are binary files. that means when the original was converted to notepad, the entire nature of the file may have changed, since the file would have been changed when it was loaded and then saved, since i dont think notepad can save as a binary.

and, if that was the case, then i dont know of any way to convert it back to a binary file and it may well be lost. in the future, if you've got an image you want to save hidden, for security reasons, i'd try encrypting with something that can encrypt and then de-encrypt and make sure it can do it with image files.