Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Photo #1 restore with PSP8

Old 07-09-2007, 05:47 PM
Photo #1 restore with PSP8

I hope this one comes in clear enough to see where the problems are.

I can retouch the scratches that show on the background. I need some help in figuring out how to repeat the background pattern where it is water damaged. As well there was some damage done to my sister's chin area (the red head) that is going to take some skin tone shading to fix.

As I stated in my intro. I'm a newbie when it comes to using the PSP software. What have been able to figure out, through trial and error, is that I need to make layer after layer with each problem I address. I just need help in the "addressing" part .

Annabelle (the baby in this picture)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GingeLauraMe.jpg (73.1 KB, 57 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-09-2007, 10:39 PM
Re: Photo #1 restore with PSP8

tranquilsea, welcome to RP.

what you want for both the chin and background is the clone brush. that's the good news. the bad news is that this often takes a bit of work to master. and the good news is, it can be mastered

and you're right about layers. for clone work, it's always best to make a new, blank layer, set the clone brush to 'use all layers' and set your blank layer as the active layer (just click once on the layer to make it active).