RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Can someone help me please?

Old 09-05-2007, 03:36 PM

Can someone help me please?

I have several photos to restore and they all have flashes of light on them. I'm not sure if it's light leaks in the camera when they were taken or how they got there but I can't for the life of me figure out how to get rid of them. I've been doing restorations for a few years using Paint Shop Pro and can't find a fix in there, I'm just a very new beginner in Photoshop CS2 so if there is a fix for it in there I will need someone to walk me through the instructions. I'm going to try and post one of the photos so you can see what I'm talking about.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Arne's_band_004 resized smaller.jpg (41.4 KB, 76 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-05-2007, 07:11 PM

Re: Can someone help me please?

(Sorry that this post is not so helpful)

By using the Info tab, the leaks show as around 250, which basically means all the information is lost: it is just white. So no easy tricks here.

You can "minimize" the damage with using Shadow/Highlight filter and get some original details back, but for me this looks mostly like a handwork - though I am newbie, so I am interested for replies, what the experts can do

One way would be, if you have pictures taken in different angle, you could patch areas by using other pictures. Like your example, if you have clearer shot of the ground in some other picture.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-05-2007, 08:00 PM

I found that the Healing brush set to replace instead of normal will do a pretty good job on the floor. Work on a new layer and I think you have to set it to sample all layers.

I use CS3 and on the Clone Tool you can change the angle of the tool which is helpful if your source area does not match the angle of the part you are fixing.

dc
Reply With Quote top