RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Why Use Greyscale?

Old 03-20-2002, 10:57 AM

Why Use Greyscale?

I am new at photo restoration but sincerely trying to learn the art and skills of photo manipulation.
I notice a lot of individuals convert color and b&w images to greyscale before making adjustments. I am confused about this operation. What is the advantage and why do many individuals make this adjustment before applying enhancements?

THANKS,
John
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-20-2002, 11:58 AM
Janitor

I can't for the life of me think of one good reason to convert to greyscale.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-20-2002, 12:57 PM

If I want to change a color photo to a black and white photo I make use of the grayscale. It gives me a much better black and white photo.

I change the RGB Image to a LAB color photo. I then click on the LAB b channel and drag it to the trash, this allows photoshop to change the remaining two channels to Alpha 1 (lightness) and Alpha 2 (LAB a). Then click on the Alpha 2 channel and drag it to the trash leaving only the Alpha 1 (lightness) channel.

The Alpha 1 (Lightness) channel describes the brightness of the pixels from dark to light, and will give you a perfect grayscale image.

Select Image menu and choose Grayscale from the fly out and you now have a grayscale image containing the correct amount of highlights and shadows.

Take a color image, convert it first to grayscale using image mode, save it, then open the original color image back up and convert it using the above process. Get both images opened on the monitor at the same time and I believe you will immediately see the difference in the two images.

George
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-20-2002, 01:18 PM
Janitor