RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Hi, I'm new here and need advice

Old 09-26-2007, 01:48 PM

Hi, I'm new here and need advice

Hi, this is my first post and I think this is a great forum. I've been doing restoration work since May 07 so I'm a bit new at it. I've uploaded a few of my restorations in the picture gallery. One of the biggest problems I have with restorations is restoring a blurred AND faded picture. The picture I am attaching has a little girl in the left corner. How can I recover her face? any help is greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WEST093.jpg (96.7 KB, 69 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-26-2007, 06:31 PM

Re: Hi, I'm new here and need advice

The problem with the little girl in this picture is not just the faded photo, but when the shot was taken the little girl turned her head. If you look carefully, you can see her mouth in two places. It's going to take some artistic reconstruction to bring much back.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-26-2007, 07:30 PM
Patron

Thats right, the girl was moving her head. Also the left side of the photo is low on contrast and faded. So I used a levels adjustment layer and focused just on the girl. Since this comes with a layer mask I masked out the entire correction and then painted the mask white to increase the contrast with the girl. I also sharpened her some. So its somewhat better.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg girlonleft.jpg (94.5 KB, 50 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-26-2007, 09:36 PM

Thanks for the answers. So I guess it comes down to artistic recreation. These are some of the toughest restorations, the ones that don't have full facial features or are distorted.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-26-2007, 09:50 PM

welcome to RP, dkf10425 (i'll just call you dkf for short ).