RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Restoration Too Dark

Old 11-04-2007, 07:28 PM

Restoration Too Dark

Hi

I have been working on the circa 60 year old photo. It had very dark backgroung with faces blownout. I have tried several times, but my background is too black with no detail. Not the best picture to start with, but I feel it can be better than this. Any idea's
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1948_1.jpg (90.5 KB, 98 views)
File Type: jpg 1948_1b.jpg (96.8 KB, 81 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-04-2007, 07:44 PM

Re: Restoration Too Dark

Unfortunately, the dark is so dark that there is no information there. You can't bring back information that doesn't exist.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-04-2007, 09:15 PM

shadow and highlight brings out some if the detail in the original. But not much help in the restoration.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-05-2007, 04:08 PM

Hi Dave

Thanks for taking the time to check photo. I knew this was almost gone before I started and did the best I could to remove damage, but thought it was worth a try to see if anyone knew of a magic method to improve the detail. There are some photo's you eventually have just got to accept that the detail is gone and what you've got is as good as it gets.

Hi Sandra

Thanks for taking the time to reply. I tried your suggestion and it did help a bit. As I said to Dave, I will just have to live with what is salvageable.

Regards

Colan
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-06-2007, 12:40 AM

there is more detail here than is at first evident. take a look at the red channel and you'll see what i mean. it's still going to be a bit of a trick, but there is more depending on how much time you want to spend.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-06-2007, 12:28 PM