RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Photo with ink/stamp on it

Old 11-05-2007, 08:45 PM

Photo with ink/stamp on it

Let me start by introducing myself. My name is Dan and I am new to these forums and this is my first post. I have been using Photoshop for about 6 or 7 years now and I am pretty familiar with its functionality. I use all types of tutorials to learn and have created many types of different things. I have not done too many photo restorations in the past. While looking through old photos, we came across this one of my grandfather when he was 17. It looks like the attached image is a picture of the original image. Besides the obvious color problems, I am having a difficult time fixing the ink/stamp that is in the bottom right of the image. I would appreciate any help that anyone can provide. Also, if anyone has anyquestions, feel free to ask Thanks!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Grandpa1.jpg (97.1 KB, 103 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-05-2007, 10:11 PM
Patron

Re: Photo with ink/stamp on it

Welcome to RP! There are many ways to restore this image. In the few minutes I had I took the following approach:
I duplicated the background and applied the Blue channel to it in Darken blend mode. Next, rather than trying to patch over the seal / stamp, I selected his right arm and the jacket, then copied it another layer, flipped it and positioned it over the damaged left side (viewers right). Cloned over the stamp outline on the shirt. Then used the dodge tool to whiten up the background. From here I would touch up the jacket and face.
Regards, Murray
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Grandpa1 Rev MM.jpg (160.0 KB, 64 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-06-2007, 12:31 AM

welcome to RP, dpalusak.

when you say you want to 'fix the stamp', do you mean fix it to make it more noticable or fix it to get rid of it?