RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Exuberant Nanna

Old 11-29-2007, 09:08 PM

Exuberant Nanna

I am working on the family photos which have been stored in those horrible sticky albums, and am starting with a) my favourites and B) the most damaged.

This photo I adore of my grandmother, and want it the best it can be.
nan original.jpg
I see four problems:
Yellow cast
Original image slightly out of focus
Original image washed out in the details
faint lines/honeycomb throughout the image from textured paper

I am new to this so I am a bit stuck as to where to start...

Using ideas for removing the colour cast first I created these:

levels-adjust-per-channel.jpglevels-adj-per-channel-auto.jpg

I am thinking of this order of action:
1. levels/colour
2. remove texture
3. overall saturation level
4. sharpen

Does this sound ok?

if this is the best it can be, I am happy as I dont want an artificial or airbrushed feel to the photo....
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-29-2007, 11:35 PM

Re: Exuberant Nanna

Hi Belinda,
This picture made me smile!
My first thought would be did you take the best scan you could? If this origional is 5X7 and I was scanning it to archive I would scan it at 600 PPI and save it as a TIFF. You will get a larg file size but if storage is a problem you can always save it to disk.
That said, I did pretty much what you suggested; I used curves to set the adjust the individual channels then set the grey balance. I made a copy and used multiply for the blend mode and then pulled a gradient across to help the exposure being darker on the right side. I used reduce noise, as my copy had horrible jpeg artifacts. Then sharpened slightly with the high pass filter.
You'll get better luck with the color on your larger origional. I suggest taking the image into the 16bit workspace before you begin your adjustments.