RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Help removing brown line by her legs

Old 02-18-2008, 12:51 AM

Help removing brown line by her legs

Hi im kinda new with photoshop cs3, im having trouble making her legs the proper color any ideas how i can fix this. thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg resized.jpg (70.8 KB, 185 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-18-2008, 03:59 AM

Re: Help removing brown line by her legs

Hi Spell,

There's a lot of damage at the bottom of your image. From about the girl's shins downwards everything is lost. No hope of recovering anything from there. From just below the girl's knees there is extensive damage. Some detail could be recovered but it would probably be a reconstruction with airbrush and painting tools rather than restoration. Certainly beyond my skill level and, if you are a beginner with Photoshop, I suspect it would be an extremely difficult challenge for you. Having seen the incredible work of many posters on this forum I won't be that surprised if the next day or two sees several perfectly reconstructed examples being posted though.

However for mere mortals the easiest solution is probably to head for the crop tool. Not only do you solve the problem of the damage to the legs but you can also remove a lot of the clutter in the background. I cropped with the same aspect ratio, used a duplicate layer set to 'screen' blend mode and masked out with a gradient to lighten up the lowest part of the cropped image. Selected the background and corrected the color cast while also desaturating by -30%. That helps to separate the girl from the background.

Graham.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CROPPED.JPG (85.5 KB, 69 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-18-2008, 08:32 AM