RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Newbies first attemp

Old 04-05-2008, 03:45 PM

Newbies first attemp

This is my first try at photo editing, so for my first project I thought I would try to restore an old photo of my grandparents. In my very amature ways, I scanned this photo at 600DPI, desaturated, clone/smear the flaws, noise filter, selected areas to color with hue/sat. Not real happy with his face or with her faded skirt. And what should I do with the rest of the background, leave it as is ? Any suggestions, where to I go from here, remember I am a brand newbie.

The original
http://linkous.homeip.net/family/gpgmoriginal.jpg

My version
http://linkous.homeip.net/family/gpgm4.jpg

I really appreciate any input, Link
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2008, 04:23 PM

Re: Newbies first attemp

Hi jllinko, welcome!
Nice job evening the exposure and fixing the spots and blemishes.

My biggest piece of advice would be about the coloring. I'm not sure how you did it but it appears that you made a selection with the pen tool and then added color to the selection?
I would try this. Make a new layer, change the blend mode to color, grab the paintbrush set to about 30% opacity and with the softest brush, start painting. I think you'll find you get better results and it saves you messing with the dreaded pen tool.

The other thing I would mention is that if you are going for realistic, I wouldn't think that the womans top was red (red will normally desaturate to the darkest of grey) and I wouldn't guess the gentlemans suit at that deep blue.

All in all, an outstanding first attempt and again, welcome.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-05-2008, 08:13 PM

Crazyfly1,