RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

1940 B&W photo, dark detail will not scan

Old 07-11-2008, 05:24 PM

1940 B&W photo, dark detail will not scan

I've done lots of basic photo touching up with photoshop. I'm no professional; my "technique" is scan high, fix what I can without spending too much time. But this time I am really stumped.

I have a large wedding photo of my parents. 1940, black and white, been on show behind glass for many years in a shady room.

There is a lot of detail on the photo that just won't scan. I've tried lots of variations on my canoscan 9900f. For example my father is wearing pin striped trousers, but the stripes just do not appear on the scan, yet there is lots of fine detail in my mother's dress that shows OK.
Copy attached, but the 100K upload limit obviously does not show much detail and the "black" areas show even less detail and so become merged.

The photo does not look faded, but looks as if it has "lost its shine, but I'm sure it was matt originally.

At many angles the photo is not easily seen, especially the dark areas, yet at certain angles the picture looks fine and the detail is perfect.

The only solution I've seen so far is to take a photo of it with light in the right direction, but I don't have a camera that would do it justice.

Is there any preparation that can be done to the photo to stop it "shining"? Any special scanning techniques? Is there a way of changing the light direction in scanners? Are some kinds of scanners better at this than others? Could it simply be a thin layer of dirt, but I'm reluctant to do too much cleaning?

I'm no perfectionist, but I don't like to loose detail when I can see it in front of me.

By the way, great site, why have I not discovered it before.

Jim
Reply With Quote top
Old 07-11-2008, 06:10 PM
Patron

Re: 1940 B&W photo, dark detail will not scan