RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

A Reflection Problem

Old 08-03-2008, 03:05 PM

A Reflection Problem

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post here. I've looked around for a problem similar to mine but haven't seen anything. An older relative has a couple large, 13" x 19", photos. They are behind bubble glass and I'm afraid to remove the glass and possibly damage an irreplacable image. I thought I could take a photo with a digital camera and the problem would be solved but didn't realize how badly reflection would play a part. Absolutely could not take an indoor photo with or without flash as photo lost too much detail. Placed outside in direct sunlight long enough to snap a couple of photos and this is about the best I could come up with.

I am totally new to Paint Shop Pro version 8, it is my daughter's program. I have used Adobe Photodeluxe 3.1 for years to repair tears and such but my attempt at removing the reflection from this photo turned out very badly. Is there any hope of removing the reflection without sacrificing too much quality? The originals were professionally cleaned approximately 15 years ago so the original is very clear. I wish that a photo outside the frame had been taken then but I was unaware that the cleaning was being performed so I could not request.

Any hints or help would be appreciated. Here are a couple links to the photos in question. I could probably get more photos taken if needed but am still extremely reluctant to try and remove photos from behind glass.

http://i302.photobucket.com/albums/n...ecPSmith10.jpg

http://i302.photobucket.com/albums/n...JaneCouch2.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-03-2008, 03:13 PM

Re: A Reflection Problem