RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Best way to image an 80 year old newspaper?

Old 08-15-2008, 09:25 AM

Question Best way to image an 80 year old newspaper?

I hope someone might be able to help me with this here.
While doing new construction on our church a time capsule of sorts was discovered filled with letters, photos, and newspaper clippings. The photos I can restore no problem but the newspaper is something I have never done before.
It is so old that it is falling apart and warped. I am not sure it can even be moved let alone scanned traditionally.
I do have a Canon S80 which is an 8MP camera that can take pictures in RAW format.
Could I use this to capture the image instead? I believe that when doing this you are supposed to have the camera a certain distance from the object with lights hitting it from a certain angle but I have not been able to find any specific info on this.
Please let me know if this question was already answered or if there is a better place to ask.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-15-2008, 12:41 PM

Re: Best way to image an 80 year old newspaper?

hi,
i am not that great with camera however.... this article i sometime refer to is pretty good... on photographing documents...
http://www.subchaser.org/photographing-documents

plus there some photography experts on here and I am sure they'll be jumping in soon....

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDJ View Post
I hope someone might be able to help me with this here.
While doing new construction on our church a time capsule of sorts was discovered filled with letters, photos, and newspaper clippings. The photos I can restore no problem but the newspaper is something I have never done before.
It is so old that it is falling apart and warped. I am not sure it can even be moved let alone scanned traditionally.