RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Is it Art or just colouring in?

Old 08-16-2008, 05:17 AM

Is it Art or just colouring in?

Hello all, excuse the thread title but I think it explains my predicament quite well. I'll explain but firstly, thank you to RetouchPro for the birthday wishes. If I'm honest I'd forgotten I'd subscribed but it has reminded me why I subscribed and that I had pushed it to the bottom of my To Do List because I'm stuck!

Over a year ago my Mother gave me a photograph and asked if I could "do anything with it". I'm a website designer so I use Photoshop every day but only a fraction of it's capabilities. The photograph is the only one of her that she likes. My sister had it and whilst it was stored in her garage along with a load of other photographs, it had got water damaged. I said I would have a go at restoring it but I think I've hit a bit of a crossroad.

A bit of history about the photograph:
My Mother was born in 1936 and raised in a small mill town in Yorkshire so not a lot going on there as you can imagine but the photographer who took the photograph was clearly ahead of his time as he hand painted this into colour. At my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary party recently they had some 'slides' that you looked at through 'binoculars' similar to the old Disney ones but the photographs were in 3D - it's very odd seeing your Grandparents stood in their parlour in 1955 in 3D. Taken by the same photographer, a Mr Steven Judge of Earby, Yorkshire (Earby is now in Lancashire - you can imagine that upset a few people!).