RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Help with sun fade

Old 08-24-2008, 03:41 PM

Help with sun fade

Hi!

I'm new to the forums, but I hope I can get to know the guys and gals around here! I'm also fairly new to photo restoration, my family have asked me to have a go at a couple of B&W images of theirs before, which I really enjoyed doing and was really chuffed with the results (one I might post in the gallery after this post!) But, the other day I was asked by my mums freind about having a go at a colour photo, which I've never done before. I have a fair bit of experience with photoshop, but mainly for web design / graphic design, I'm afraid to say I've never really needed to work at something as delicate as this in my life! I'm finding trying to balance a natural colour quite difficult.

Anyway, I've had a little tickle, I was wondering if I posted what I've acheived so far if you guys could give me some tips. I'm a little stuck on the child on the left, who still seems a little blown out, what do you think? Also, you can see clearly on the before photo, that this photo must have been in some kind of frame as the right side has a natural colour to it, I thought that might help me, but it's just confused things in the end.

Anything you have to say on the photo is much appreciated, as you're all more skilled at this than I could hope to be. I'd appreciate any guidance and hope in future I can chip in and give the love back!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg colrest1.jpg (78.7 KB, 97 views)
File Type: jpg colrest2.jpg (90.9 KB, 83 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-24-2008, 05:23 PM
Patron

Re: Help with sun fade

BenC, welcome to RetouchPRO
I think you are off to a good start, these tutorials may give you some additional ways to enhance your efforts

Restoring an old photograph (A good starting place)