RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

out of my depth!

Old 12-17-2008, 07:05 AM

out of my depth!

Hi, what wonderful help you all are in here. I have just joined after scanning here for some time to get some ideas................. now I am really in need of some advice and help!!

I have attempted to add the colour back into a family photo and as a beginner, I have not been very successful! Some step-by-step on getting this fixed would be fantastic.

I only have PS Elements 5.0...... and am really just learning through experimentation on my own!

Appreciate any assistance that I can get.

Cheers Fay
Attached Images
File Type: jpg our family restore.jpg (42.3 KB, 160 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2008, 08:00 AM

Re: out of my depth!

Hi, Fay! Welcome to RetouchPro! Explore and Enjoy!

Your sample image is quite small, but it appears to have a lot of paper texture picked up in the scan. Did you turn on "Descreen" in your scanning software when you scanned it?
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2008, 10:48 AM

Beyond my skills!

Hi Everyone,

I have a restoration problem. A friend came to me with an WWII vintage B&W image needing restoration that is far beyond my skill set. I'm wondering if anyone is willing to take a swing at it. It's a Christmas gift so there's not much time. Hope someone can help! e-mail me for hi-res.

Thanks!

Steve Marsel

www.stevemarselstudio.com
steve@stevemarselstudio.com
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HOTEL-LAS-BRISAS-PHOTO.jpg (76.0 KB, 79 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-17-2008, 01:49 PM

I ran out of time, and have to go out. But it is possible to improve it vastly. A lot of careful cloning, cutting and pasting, and painting. All on separate layers of course. You might even try bringing in elements of other photos if you have them.
Attached Images