RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Help! Repair/Restoring Slide Image

Old 01-01-2009, 09:24 PM

Help! Repair/Restoring Slide Image

Good Evening to all the good folks here at RP!

I have a daunting task ahead of me and am looking for a good starting point!

I am fairly new to restoring/correcting photos (other than the "quick fixes" located in my camera software!) but my daughter gave me a copy of PS Elements 6 for Christmas to help me with along my long road ahead. Over the past few weeks I have been scanning all of the photo's and slides that my Grandparents had in their home. A lot of them were just piled in old boxes but it included several hundred 35mm slides. After contacting several photo print shops inquiring about converting the slides to digital images I purchased a very nice Epson Photo/Negative Scanner (under $150 vs .50 per slide!) and began the task of scanning each and every photo and slide. My goal was to correct/restore the pictures that needed it and make a slide show DVD for my grandparents for Christmas. This task was cut short when my grandfather passed away on Dec 12.

I have been reading a lot of the posts here, watching a lot of tutorials online, purchased "Photoshop Elements 6 for Dummies" and just kinda muddling through several photos.

One of the major problems that I am having with the several of the slides is sever fading, I'm not quite sure how to proceed with these.

I am attaching one of the "worst" that I'm dealing with.... any and all suggestions are welcome! Up to this point I have been playing with different levels and have had some pretty good results! A lot of these slides were taken during a trip from Ohio to AZ in 1963 (Most of them taken at the Grand Canyon) so quite a few of them have the sky's blown out in them!

Thanks for your time and consideration!
Sherry
Attached Images