RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Please help a newbie out.

Old 01-08-2009, 09:08 PM

Newbie Please help a newbie out.

Hello everyone. I am very new to this and could use a little help with this picture. I have been trying for the past week and have made no real noticible progress. I just can't seem to get the programs to do what thery are supposed to. This is the only known photo of my great grandfather and I would really like to restore it so I can print an 8 x 10 of it for my dad for his birthday.

Here is the link to the photo:

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z...e/File0001.jpg

If anyone could look at it and tell me if there is any hope I would greatly aapperciate it. Thanks for reading.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-08-2009, 09:51 PM

Re: Please help a newbie out.

jwmgoblue, welcome to RP.

yes, this can be helped. the critical area is the gent's face. with that tear mark running right through the middle of his face, that's where i'd start. i made a selection of his left side of the head (our right) and then copied that and pasted it back in, closer to the other side of his head. whoever taped those two parts back together, didnt get them quite close enough. so, you have to digitally put them back together closer.

once you get them as good as you can, make another selection of his good eye (his right one, our left) and make a copy then a new image of the copy. do a mirror on that and then paste it back into the original image over his left eye in the right location.

then, using things like clone, airbrush and smudge, blend that 'new' eye into the surrounding area so that it looks natural.

hopefully, you have a higher resolution image, also. the one posted here is a bit low res to do really good work.