RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

Old torn photo - new member

Old 01-17-2009, 07:54 AM

Old torn photo - new member

This is my first time to post here. Someone in the family has gone through and torn about 4 old photos of my great grandmother in half. One particular photo has a rare pose of her with my great grandfather smiling candidly at one another, but the tear goes right through both of their faces and through his eyes. There are also some other flaws to the right of her face where someone used tape to put the photo back together. I have another photo taken within a few years of the same couple, so I know what they look like. Can anyone give me an idea as to what is the best way of restoring this? As you can see the first photo is the one in need of restoration, the 2nd shows what they actually look like.

Regards
Joel
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CA&CAPrice.jpg (83.6 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg CAPricesmall2.JPG (70.3 KB, 89 views)

Last edited by joelhutto; 01-17-2009 at 08:00 AM. Reason: wording
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2009, 09:00 PM

Re: Old torn photo - new member

Here is my try after 10 Mins... I grabbed an Eye off of another picture, and pasted it on yours. Did a little cloning and masking. ( And some desaturation ) The opacity around the gentlemans eye still needs some work, but its a start. You may be able to find a better eye or use a digital image of your own looking in the proper direction ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 10Mins.jpg (63.3 KB, 80 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2009, 09:31 PM