Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Restoration
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Restoration Repairing damaged photos

learner a little stumped !

Old 01-25-2009, 09:03 PM
learner a little stumped !

Finally found a few minutes to read and post here.

I have a photograph of my Mother as a child, it is the only one she has and is very damaged. I have made a few attempts with the smudge tool and the clone stamp in the past to try to remove the creases and tears but they always show and look really bad ! I have gotten it this far and managed to get a much more consistant colour to it. Originally it was all shades of yellow and very stained.

I am only new to using photoshop and am wondering if someone can help explain how to get to the next step with it. I am giving myself till mothers day this year to finally have something I can frame and be proud to give to her! Should be enough time for a learner lol.

Thanks Jules
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-25-2009, 10:49 PM
Re: learner a little stumped !

Hey Jules, welcome to RP!

Always post sample pictures in your post.. a larger size can then be posted on another hosting site if necessary.. that way at least a copy will be available here forever

Can you also post an original high resolution color scan with all the yucky yellow and stuff on it!

It looks like the clone tool and healing brush will be the major players in this restoration but the tips and suggestions will depend on what software you are working with to do the restore, so it might just be a matter of practice, practice, practice!

I think you might have a very nice present to present when you are finished
Attached Images
File Type: jpg update117copy.jpg (96.4 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg update117-granny.jpg (98.3 KB, 59 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-26-2009, 02:07 AM

Tis is my try at the picture.

-Curves adjustment
-healing brush
-Painting on blank layer.
-Patch tool

Attached Images